December 16, 2011

2012 Men's All-America team

(l. to r.) Forward of the Year Nate Bascom, Midfielder of the Year Jeremy Payne, Defender of the Year Julien Aoyama, and Goalkeeper of the Year Paul Killian.

The 2012 season is in the books, and now that the new men's and women's champions have been crowned, the third annual All-America teams are ready for release. This year, the teams were chosen by staff, Division III soccer coaches and sports information directors from a field of over 400 nominations.

Senior Nate Bascom of Ohio Northern University is the Forward of the Year.  Bascom led a Polar Bear attack which scored 3.07 goals per game, the sixth best clip in the nation, en route to a national runner-up finish. The forward proved adept at both finishing and providing: his 18 goals were second most on the team and his 18 assists were second most in the nation and set a new school record.  The two-time Ohio Athletic Conference (OAC) Forward of the Year was also credited with four game-winning goals.  A four-year starter, Bascom holds the school records for career assists and for points and tied the career goals record when he tallied for the 56th time in his team's national semifinal win.  He is a repeat honoree, having been named to the All-America second team a year ago. 

Messiah College sophomore Jeremy Payne is the Midfielder of the Year.  In a Falcon team and a sophomore class that is deep and loaded with talent, a team-leading 17 goals has garned him special recognition.  Payne and the eventual national champions became more dynamic when he was moved back from center forward into the midfield, all ten of his assists coming after the switch with no drop-off in goal scoring.  His final tally of 44 points tied him for eleventh in the country and contributed to Messiah's 3.24 goals per game average, fourth best in the nation.  Commonwealth Conference Player of the Year honors were his to go along with the team's conference championship.  To help complete the champions' undefeated run to the title, Payne recorded assists in each of their four tournament games leading up to the final where he scored twice himself. 

Junior Julien Aoyama from Amherst College earned Defender of the Year honors.  Aoyama was instrumental in both the Lord Jeff's stellar defense and potent attack during the 2012 campaign that saw Amherst go undefeated and reach the national quaterfinals.  As a dominant stopper on the right side of the backline he helped Amherst to a nation's best 0.15 goals-against-average and 85% shutout rate, a result of limiting opponents to an average of just 5.9 shots and a mere 2.0 shots-on-goal, both tops across the country as well.  But the junior right back was a dynamic, multi-dimensional player, proving capable going forward and adding to the attack.  Aoyama's four goals scored were more than the paltry three his team allowed all season and he was credited with assists on four more goals.  His 12 points were the most among NESCAC defenders and helped his team set schools records for wins and goals in a season.

Senior Paul Killian of Stevens Institute of Technology is the Goalkeeper of the Year. Killian's superb 0.910 save percentage was the nation's second best and one of just two marks over 90%.  Having to deal with an average of 4 shots-on-goals per outing, his ability to turn away shots resulted in a 0.33 goals against average that ranked third in the country.  Along the way to the Empire 8 regular season and tournament championship and a place in the NCAA Sweet 16, Killian and the  Ducks posted nine straight shutouts.  The junior netminder came up big with two outstanding saves in the conference final penalty shutout, the second one clinching the title for Stevens and tournament MVP honors for himself.  He would also be selected to the Empire 8 All-Conference first team. Killian follows in the footsteps of his assistant coach Zach Carr who was Goalkeeper of the Year for Stevens in 2010.

The Coach of the Year is Brad McCarty of Messiah College. When McCarty took charge of the Falcons in 2009 he couldn't have inherited a program better set-up for success, but along with that came a nearly impossible standard to live up to. Yet McCarty not only continued the Messiah winning tradition, but built on that success with three national titles of his own. A 1993 Messiah graduate, McCarty had a successful collegiate career and then continued on to play professional soccer for four seasons. He returned to Messiah in 2001 to work as assistant coach for Dave Brandt. In his four seasons as head coach, McCarty has already made his mark on the storied program with a record of 86-3-3 and several outstanding recruiting classes of his own.  This season, with a young team completely of his own making, he oversaw the program's second undefeated title-winning campaign.  With his third national championship in hand and a young growing team, Coach McCarty has firmly established his own place in Division III men's soccer and created a new era at Messiah that stacks up to the previous one.

Forward of the Year: Nate Bascom (Sr.), Ohio Northern
Midfielder of the Year: Jeremy Payne (So.), Messiah
Defender of the Year: Julien Aoyama (Jr.), Amherst
Goalkeeper of the Year: Paul Killian (Jr.), Stevens
Pos. Player Year School
F Nate Bascom* Sr. Ohio Northern
F Sebastiaan Jansen Sr. Union
M Jeremy Payne So. Messiah
M Kevin Cavers Jr. Loras
M Sam Ocel Sr. Brandeis
M Dan Mendoza Jr. Montclair State
D Julien Aoyama Jr. Amherst
D Carter Robbins So. Messiah
D Alex Laird * Sr. St. Lawrence
D Dan Figura Jr. Loras
GK Paul Killian Jr. Stevens
Pos. Player Year School
F Yuri Ribiero Jr. Trinity (Texas)
F Matt Fechter Sr. Colorado College
F Eric Anderson * Sr. Babson
M Bill McGuiness Sr. Scranton
M Cody Antonini* Sr. Muhlenberg
M Brian Ramirez So. Messiah
D Zander Mrlik Sr. Vassar
D Michael Micheletti Sr. Trinity (Texas)
D Lucas Thompson Sr. Gustavus Adolphus
D Leonardo Casas Jr. Stevens
GK Than Finan Sr. Williams
Pos. Player Year School
F Mahir Mameledzija Jr. Lake Forest
F Nick McDonald Sr. Dubuque
F Ryan Garvey Sr. Centre
M Ryan Greenhill Sr. Hiram
M Nick Holtrop Sr. Calvin
M Sam DeMello * Sr. St. Lawrence
M Chris Matejka Sr. Ohio Northern
D Chris Lerner Sr. Amherst
D Balin Larson Sr. Whitworth
D Brandon Kates Sr. Susquehanna
GK Brett Ylonen So. Gustavus Adolphus
* previous All-America honors
Brad McCarty, Messiah (23-0-2) - 2012 National Champion
No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.