November 9, 2017

Hoeft Named to CoSIDA Academic All-District Team

Senior defender Josh Hoeft of the Oglethorpe men's soccer team was named to the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District Men's Soccer Team for NCAA Division III District 5 Thursday, as voted by CoSIDA members from the district. The award recognizes efforts both athletically and in the classroom, and marks the second regional academic award of Hoeft's career after he earned Scholar All-South Region honors from the National Soccer Coaches Association of America in 2016.

Hoeft currently holds a 3.59 cumulative GPA with a degree in engineering. He earned All-SAA Honorable Mention this year, marking his second consecutive All-SAA accolade. The Petrel fullback and Suwanee native served as an essential part of Oglethorpe's SAA championship run, recording a goal and three assists over the course of the season. The goal served as the game-winner in the team's 3-1 win over crosstown rival Emory on Oct. 18.

The Stormy Petrel defender is the first member of the Oglethorpe men's soccer team to earn a spot on a CoSIDA Academic All-District team since Nick Williamson accomplished the feat in 2013.

"We're very proud of Josh," said Oglethorpe head coach Jon Akin, "both in and out of the classroom. He's had an outstanding career, and hopefully we've got several games left yet. Josh deserves every accolade that has and will come his way."

Hoeft and the rest of the Stormy Petrels are set for the program's second-ever trip to the NCAA Division III Men's Soccer Championship this weekend. They'll take on North Carolina Wesleyan Saturday at 11 a.m. from Lexington, Virginia, and if they win, they'll battle the winner of the pod's other matchup between host Washington & Lee and Mary Washington Sunday at 1 p.m.

CoSIDA Academic All-District honorees are automatically nominated for Academic All-America consideration. Those teams will be announced later in November. District 5, which Oglethorpe is located in, consists of schools in Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.