Video | Live stats | Recap

November 6, 2010

CNU Women's Soccer Wins Back-to-Back USA South Tournament Crowns

MARTINSVILLE, Va. – Led by a pair of goals from Tournament MVP Emma O'Reilly (Springfield, Va.), top-seeded Christopher Newport University claimed a 4-0 win over #6 Averett University in the title game of the 2010 USA South Women's Soccer Tournament tonight at the Smith River Sports Complex.

The rookie O'Reilly scored goals at 6:41 and 59:42 for Christopher Newport (16-4-1), with senior defender Megan Conheeney (Ridgewood, N.J.) assisting on the first goal. Senior Sam Ciaravino (Burke, Va.) scored the other two goals for CNU, in the 37th and 44th minutes, and became CNU's all-time leader in goals.

Senior Chelsea Brown (Dover, Del.) assisted on Ciaravino's first goal, while Dani Gunderson (Newport News, Va.) and Annemarie Weaver (Norfolk, Va.) were credited with assists on her second goal.

Sophomore Meghan Gumbs (Mastic, N.Y.) played all 90 minutes in net for CNU, posting four saves. She was in goal for all three shutouts in the 2010 USA South Tournament for CNU. Samantha Lupo made six saves for the Cougars (13-7).  CNU out-shot Averett 18-8 and closed with a 4-0 advantage in corner kicks.

With the win, Christopher Newport claims the USA South's automatic bid into the 2010 NCAA Division III Women's Soccer Tournament.  The Captains won the tournament for the second straight year.

Ciaravino not only became CNU's all-time leader in goals with the game, but her 43-point season is the best ever for CNU and she now has 86 career points, just two off the all-time leader, Ashleigh Dota.

CNU will find out who and where they will play in the NCAA Tournament this Monday as the selections will be released on -- stay tuned to for further updates.

2010 USA South Women's Soccer All-Tournament Team

GK – Meghan Gumbs, CNU
Def – Alexis Stahlman, CNU
Def – Megan Conheeney, CNU
Def – Suvi Piipponen, Averett
MF – Sam Ciarivino, CNU
MF – Annika Rindestedt, Averett
MF – Mary Randolph, Greensboro
MF – Eliza Evans, Meredith
F – Kendall Dishaw, CNU
F – Maliha Ataulla, Averett
F – Emma O'Reilly, CNU (MVP)

No contests today.
No contests today.
No contests today.